Fall TV Preview: Class of 2012

Standard

Hayden Panettiere plays Juliette Barnes in ‘Nashville’ which premieres October 10. Photo courtesy of ABC.

What if the new Fall TV lineup were a part of your senior class, which superlatives do you think these shows would have won? Well, I thought I’d try to answer that question with some superlatives I wish we’d had when I was in high school. Of course these, like actual senior superlatives, are all in good fun. (Although I don’t doubt Hayden Panettiere could get into a catfight; I mean, did you see Bring It On: All or Nothing?)

Most Likely To End Up A Hot Mess
The Mindy Project
Premieres: September 25 at 9:30pm on Fox

Mindy Kaling looks like she’ll be hilarious playing titular character Mindy Lahiri in this comedy about a woman trying to figure out how to balance work and her personal life. This show looks like it’s going to run in the same vein as New Girl but with a different kind of quirky lead female–she’s very sassy. The preview makes it look a little bit all over the place, but who’s life hasn’t been all over the place at some point or another? I just hope the show execs—and Mindy—can figure out what they’re doing.

Most Likely To Wind Up In Jail
Vegas
Premieres: September 25 at 10pm on CBS

Dennis Quaid and Michael Chiklis face off in ‘Vegas’ premiering on September 25. Photo courtesy of CBS.

For being so good! (Or bad, I don’t know, I’m not a psychic) Before watching the preview, I thought this show was going to be like Las Vegas, but I think the decision to set this show in the early years of the city, the 1960’s, was a great idea. Boardwalk Empire, Mad Men and Game of Thrones are very popular period dramas that may have paved the way for this show. Throw in some big names like Dennis Quaid and Michael Chiklis and you might have a hit.

Most Likely To Stalk Michael Bay
Last Resort
Premieres: September 27 at 8pm on ABC

This show looks like it could be a really great movie, although I’m not sure exactly what the plot is yet and I couldn’t explain it to anyone except that there’s a huge government conspiracy and the U.S. is trying to go to war with Pakistan. Last Resort seems like it might be the weird offspring of Burn Notice and Political Animals. Or it might be more similar to LOST. I’m not sure about this show, I’m not sure it can live up to the bar set in the preview. But I’m welcome to surprises.

Janet Montgomery stars as Martina Garretti in ‘Made In Jersey.’ Photo courtesy of CBS.

Most Likely To Get Into Harvard Law
Made In Jersey
Premieres: September 28 at 9pm on CBS

I’m going to start off by saying I am totally biased to this show right off the bat because: I’m from Jersey and Legally Blonde is one of my favorite movies. This show looks like it’s going to be the Legally Blonde sequel I wish had happened, but the sassy female lawyer is from New Jersey instead of California. It’s unclear if this show is going for comedy or drama, but personally I don’t care so long as they don’t take a weird trip to Washington D.C. to fight for a dubious cause.

Most Likely To Get Married At Comic-Con
Arrow
Premieres: October 10 at 8pm on CW

It’s really exciting to me to have a superhero drama on primetime television again, especially a gritty superhero show with Stephen Amell as Green Arrow and co-starring Katie Cassidy. This show has the added advantage of coming out during the year of the archer. Although following in the footsteps of Katniss Everdeen, Hawkeye and Merida will not be an easy task, I hope Arrow will be able to live up to its comic book counterpart.

Most Likely To Be In An Episode Of Law & Order: SVU
Chicago Fire
Premieres: October 10 at 10pm on NBC

Taylor Kinney stars as Kelly Severide in ‘Chicago Fire’ premiering October 10. Photo courtesy of NBC.

This show is brought to you by Dick Wolf, who produced the original Law & Order and all of its spinoffs. It will be interesting to see what he brings to this show. The tension between Taylor Kinney and Jesse Spencer’s characters in the preview sets the stage for a lot of in house fighting set against the action of being firefighters. The introduction of a new firefighter could also lead to some cool story arcs. I’m excited to see what Dick Wolf will bring us next with this show.

Most Likely To Get Into A Catfight
Nashville
Premieres: October 10 at 10pm on ABC

I was hesitant of this show at first because I’m not very big into country, but Connie Britton will get me to give anything a shot. This show looks like it might be what everyone hoped Smash was going to be last Fall: a good musical drama that isn’t Glee. The character of the aged star being pushed out by a new up and comer is almost as tired as the ingénue character, but it seems Britton’s character, Rayna James, has a lot of fight in her. However, her rival, Juliette Barnes (Hayden Panettiere) does as well. So, we’ll see how these two ladies duke it out.

Mamie Gummer stars as the titular character in ‘Emily Owens, M.D.’ Photo courtesy of CW.

Most Likely To Relive High School Forever
Emily Owens, M.D.
Premieres: October 16 at 9pm on CW

When I saw the first preview for this show, I was really excited. I’m a recent college grad and I mentally berate myself for not knowing how to flirt with guys, so I could instantly relate to Emily Owens (Mamie Gummer). However, I’m not sure about the dynamic that will transpire between Owens and her high school tormenter, who just happens to work at the same hospital. Although I did like the Mean Girls-esque breakdown of which cliques in high school became which doctors. In the end, I think the overarching theme of how hard it is to become an adult will definitely draw a lot of people in, including myself. I’m interested to see how Owens will keep us hooked.

What shows are you excited to watch? Which one do you think should win Most Likely To Succeed?

One thought on “Fall TV Preview: Class of 2012

Leave a Reply

