Why ‘Breaking Dawn: Part 2’ is the best ‘Twilight’ Movie

Standard

The final installment of ‘The Twilight Saga’ was released on Nov. 16. Photo courtesy of Screenrant.

It all started in 2005 when Little, Brown published Stephenie Meyer’s first book: Twilight. If you want to get technical, I suppose we could go back to 2003 when Meyer had the dream that inspired Twilight. Either way, the first book has been out for less than a decade and it is arguably one of the most popular series of all time. This month, the final film installment to The Twilight Saga premiered in theaters all over the world. So far, Breaking Dawn: Part 2 has made $362.5 million, $200 million of which comes from ticket sales overseas. Breaking Dawn: Part 1 ended its theater run with $712.2 million and Part 2 is expected to break that record.

While The Twilight Saga becomes more successful every year, my love for the series has dwindled into slight resentment. Yes, 15-year-old me loved the Twilight book series. So much so that my stepsister and I bought our own special edition copies of New Moon and read the preview of Eclipse under the car light as our family drove home from the North Fork of Long Island. But somewhere between going to college and the premiere of the Eclipse movie, I became disinterested. I was unimpressed by the movies, the fans, and eventually the books bored me. However, I still watched all the movies with some sense of needing to see this thing through to the end. I’m glad I did because Breaking Dawn Part 2 is easily the best movie in the saga and here is why:

Fans of ‘Twilight’ dedicated a Tumblr to Robert Pattinson. Photo courtesy of Robert-Pattinson-Hates-His-Life.

1. Robert Pattinson Can Finally Be Happy

Sometimes, I wonder how much Robert Pattinson hates himself for accepting the role of Twilight’s Edward Cullen because he despises the series more than anyone else ever could. (Other times I think it might be a ploy to appeal to those that dislike the series, but I’m a sucker for conspiracy theories.) Recently, a video called “Robert Pattinson Is Happy Twilight Is Over” went viral. The video is a collection of interview clips spliced together that show Pattinson expressing his dislike for the source material and his character.

Although the video is hilarious, I can’t help but take a moment to appreciate the fact that this actor is living the life of a guy he hates and that must suck (forgive the vampire pun, I couldn’t resist.) At least, with the completion of The Twilight Saga, Robert Pattinson is finally, finally free.

2. A Werewolf Falls In Love With A Baby

Let’s be honest, even those of us that read the books thought Stephanie Meyer went a little some-men-just-want-to-watch-the-world-burn in Breaking Dawn. Between the vampire-on-human sex, the vampire baby pregnancy, and then the whole imprinting thing—also known as Jacob falling head over heels in love with Bella and Edward’s half vampire baby—Meyer bewildered, disturbed, and disgusted some fans. When I lost interest in the series, I considered not watching the movies anymore, until I read Devin Faraci’s argument for why Breaking Dawn must be a movie.

Faraci’s main reason for wanting this movie made is to see all the crazy stuff from the books on a movie screen, including this relationship between Jacob and baby Renesmee. Melissa Rosenberg, who wrote the screenplay with Stephenie Meyer, and Bill Condon, the director, do a good job of balancing the crazy aspects of Breaking Dawn, like a fully-grown werewolf making googly eyes at an infant, with some campy humor. There is a great argument between Bella and Jacob where Bella accuses him of nicknaming her daughter after the Loch Ness Monster. Though this happens in the book, Kristen Stewart and Taylor Lautner bring the hilarity to the scene. Because of this, the imprinting dynamic is if not relatively normal than at least relatively less creepy. Matt McDonough, community manager for MTV, said it best in this tweet:

3. Sneaky Little Writerses. Wicked, Tricksy, False! (Spoilers ahead)

There is a major scene toward the end that does not play out the way it did in the books. I’d like to preemptively justify my thoughts by saying that it’s been a few years since I read Breaking Dawn, but here is what went through my head as I watched the standoff between the Cullens and the Volturi:

The fight scene in the movie is actually hinted at by Edward in the ‘Breaking Dawn’ book. Photo courtesy of Forever Young Adult.

Wait, hang on a sec. I don’t remember Carlisle dying in the books. Did this happen? I don’t remember this. I specifically remember no one dying. Did they? Hold up. JASPER! Seth no! Oh god, Leah! The sound of the vampires’ heads being ripped off is seriously disturbing. Did I miss something? Was this movie rated R? OHHHH! Dammit.

Melissa Rosenberg and Bill Condon pulled off one of the cruelest jokes in film history on Twilight fans. This “twist ending” was teased for months and although it’s not technically a twist (since it inevitably stays true to the book,) it certainly added some much-needed action to the movie.

In addition to Best Movie, ‘The Twilight Saga’ has taken home the award for Best Kiss four years in a row. Photo courtesy of MTV.

4. Other Movies Will Win Some Awards

As it can be inferred, I spent my fair share of hard earned money on the Twilight franchise and all I got was this tacky self-loathing thing. What hurt the most, though, was watching each Twilight Saga movie win award, after award, after award, and some more awards. Twilight movies have won the MTV Movie Award for Best Movie four years in a row! Some people might call me bitter (because I am), but I would like to see something new take home the MTV golden popcorn.

Many of these awards come from the fans that vote in the Kids’ Choice Awards, Teen Choice Awards and People’s Choice Awards. It goes to show, Twihards are a force to be reckoned with and have even overpowered Potterheads in the past. There was a time when it seemed guaranteed that if a Twilight movie was nominated and fans could vote, they would win. But once Breaking Dawn: Part 2 makes it through award season, those days are behind us.

Unless the rumors about Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight novella, The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner, being made into a movie become fact…

Leave a Reply

