5 Reasons the World Can’t End on December 21, 2012

Standard
Pictures of fake weather reports showing the end of the world have been circulating the Internet. Photo courtesy of Reddit.

Pictures of fake weather reports showing the end of the world have been circulating the Internet. Photo courtesy of Reddit.

Tomorrow the world is going to end. At least, that’s what we’ve been hearing for years. There have been many specials on the History Channel and articles online—as well as that frightening John Cusack flick, among others—either coming up with theories of how the world will end, or debunking the myths. Either way, some people online have voiced concerns that many violent crimes may be committed because of the apocalypse hubbub. While everyone has been panicking, NASA has done everything they can to calm the public, including the pre-release of the “Why the World Didn’t End Yesterday” press release.

Even though I don’t honestly believe the world will end tomorrow, I had a good laugh back in June when one of my student loan providers sent me an email that said my first payment would be due on December 21, 2012 (oh, how my bank account and I laughed through the tears.) Still, it’s pretty easy to fall into the hysteria. So I compiled a list of movies, books and TV shows that I’m looking forward to in the next year or so to keep me grounded in reality. And, of course, by reality I mean fictional reality.

Peeta and Katniss head back into the arena in 'Catching Fire'. Photo courtesy of Hollywood.com.

Peeta and Katniss head back into the arena in ‘Catching Fire’. Photo courtesy of Hollywood.com.

Catching Fire

I hate to admit it, but I was late to The Hunger Games party; I read all three books between January and February of this year. To say I fell in love with the series—despite some strong opinions about how Mockingjay should have been two books—would be an understatement. The motion poster for Catching Fire was released late in November and it has ignited the same fervor that surrounded the first movie in the series. Unfortunately, Catching Fire isn’t set to be released until Nov. 21, 2013.

Until then, we can take comfort in rewatching the first Hunger Games movie and rereading the trilogy as many times as it takes for it to stop hurting, though I doubt that will ever happen. We can also devour as much casting news and pictures from the set as possible. I am most excited to see Sam Clafin play Finnick Odair, who is one of my favorite characters, and Jena Malone play Johanna Mason. No matter how much I will hate the love triangle speculations that are bound to arise again between Katniss, Peeta and Gale, I can’t wait to go inside the world of The Hunger Games again. That being said, I really hope whatever happens this Friday doesn’t leave us in a real life Hunger Games situation.

Frank Grillo has been cast to play Crossbones, the villain, in 'The Winter Soldier'. Photo courtesy of Marvel.

Frank Grillo has been cast to play Crossbones, the villain, in ‘The Winter Soldier’. Photo courtesy of Marvel.

The Upcoming Marvel Movies

A few months ago, I assembled a list of Avenger-related movie news. But let me reiterate how excited I am for all of the Marvel movies that are set to come out in the next few years: Iron Man 3 is coming out on May 3, 2013; The Wolverine on July 26, 2013; Thor The Dark World on Nov. 8, 2013; and Captain America: The Winter Soldier on April 4, 2014. Then there are the films without set release dates, Guardians of the Galaxy and The Avengers 2, as well as the S.H.I.E.L.D. pilot for ABC.

There is a lot to look forward to from Marvel in the next few years. I’m still hoping for a Black Widow based movie that will expand upon a line between Black Widow and Hawkeye in Marvel’s The Avengers, which is looking more and more plausible every day. Of course, it will never happen if the world comes to an end. So let’s just put that whole thing off for at least a couple years.

Neil Burger signed on to direct the 'Divergent' movie and Shailene Woodly to play Tris. Photo courtesy of Harper Collins.

Neil Burger signed on to direct the ‘Divergent’ movie and Shailene Woodly to play Tris. Photo courtesy of Harper Collins.

Final Divergent Trilogy Book

I started reading Divergent this past summer and I quickly fell in love with Veronica Roth’s post-apocalyptic Chicago world where the people are separated into five factions. Between the action, the government conspiracies, and the romance it’s no wonder I fell in love with the first novel and got my hands on the sequel as soon as I could. Since finishing Insurgentwhich ended on one hell of a big reveal–I have been following Roth’s Tumblr and eagerly awaiting the yet-to-be titled next installment.

While working on the next book, Roth won two Goodreads Choice Awards. Insurgent won for Choice Young Adult Fantasy, and Roth won for Choice Goodreads Author. There have also been plans for a movie; Shailene Woodly and Neil Burger are already attached to the project. Although I am looking forward to a movie being made, I am looking forward to the next book more. If, after tomorrow, there is some sort of post-apocalyptic world scenario, I hope it’s like the world of Divergent.

Joey Richter and Darren Criss reprised their roles as Ron Weasley and Harry Potter for 'AVPSY'. Photo courtesy of Tumblr.

Joey Richter and Darren Criss reprised their roles as Ron Weasley and Harry Potter for ‘AVPSY’. Photo courtesy of Tumblr.

A Very Potter Senior Year

The third and final installment of Team Starkid’s Very Potter Musical trilogy was performed for the first and last time at LeakyCon 2012 in Chicago. I wasn’t able to attend LeakyCon and have been waiting many months for the one-time-only performance of A Very Potter Senior Year to be released on YouTube. I was starting to think it would never see the light of the Internet. But then Team Starkid announced on Dec. 10 that they would release the soundtrack and script on Dec. 15 before releasing the video performance in early 2013.

While I haven’t read the script or listened to the soundtrack yet, I downloaded both from the Team Starkid store on the 15th. I have heard many good things about the production and have stayed clear of any spoilers but I am sad to see the end of the series. It’s been a while since A Very Potter Musical went viral in the summer of 2009. I have kept up with Team Starkid and watched all their productions so I have a lot of mixed emotions about AVPSY. But I will never forgive the Mayan gods if I die before seeing A Very Potter Senior Year.

Ashley Benson, of Pretty Little Liars fame, is set to appear next year on 'HIMYM'. Photo courtesy of Fanpop.

Ashley Benson, of ‘Pretty Little Liars’ fame, is set to appear next year on ‘HIMYM’. Photo courtesy of Fanpop.

Who is the Mother?

How I Met Your Mother is in the middle of its eighth season. That’s nearly eight years that we have been waiting for Bob Saget, as an older Ted Mosby, to tell his children (played by Lyndsy Fonseca and David Henrie, who have both built their acting careers since this show premiered in 2005) how he met their mother. Except we still don’t know! Sure there are plenty of theories and I think the one that holds the most weight is the theory that The Mother is Barney’s half-sister. But we still don’t know for sure whom Ted marries and who is the mother of his children. There have been many red herrings on this show—Robin, Victoria, and Stella just to name a few—but the identity of The Mother has yet to be revealed.

Although this show has been teasing its audience for so long now, it’s a concept that has kept us around for all this time, even if it’s just a simple mystery that a really fantastic show is based around. Anyway, as one of those people that needs to know things and hates being kept in the dark (for eight freaking years), I do not want to die without finding out–for sure–the identity of The Mother.

No matter if you believe in this end of the world stuff, I hope you have a safe 12/21/12. Personally, I will be spending the day trying not to have a panic attack at work, watching the Doctor Who episode “The End of the World” and paying my first student loan bill. Actually, just in case, maybe I’ll wait until the 22nd for that last one.

Leave a Reply

