Top 6 Songs From NBC’s ‘Smash’

Standard
The second season of 'Smash' premiered Feb. 5. Photo courtesy of the Hollywood Reporter.

The second season of ‘Smash’ premiered Feb. 5. Photo courtesy of the Hollywood Reporter.

The musical drama airing on NBC, Smash, took a hard hit in the ratings this week. The show pulled in a meager 2.6 million viewers and a rating of 0.7 from Smash’s audience demographic. Despite the low ratings, however, the show continues to air. Probably because, as The New York Times points out, they’ve already shot all their episodes for this season. Personally, I’m happy about it; Smash is my guilty pleasure show. Sure, I share some other folk’s opinion that Karen Cartwright (played by Katharine McPhee) is pretty freaking terrible (no offense Katharine); sure, the first season spiraled out of control, and not in a good way; but remember when Nick Jonas had a guest role last season and performed a fantastic rendition of Michael Bublé’s “Haven’t Met You Yet”? Also, have you heard Jimmy Collins (Jeremy Jordan) sing? Boy’s got talent.

I guess it’s pretty safe to say I’m sticking around because if there is one thing Smash has, it’s bucket loads of musical talent: Megan Hilty, Jennifer Hudson, and Will Chase (I’m still hoping he’ll come back!) just to name a few. All these talented people lend their voices to some really great original songs, as well as covers of popular music and Broadway hits alike. Of course Smash has it’s fair share of duds, but for the most part I’ve enjoyed the music this season. So I thought I’d show some love to my favorite primetime guilty pleasure—as well as the people behind the music—and list my favorite songs so far this season.

Jennifer Hudson joined the cast of 'Smash' this season. Photo courtesy of NBC.

Jennifer Hudson joined the cast of ‘Smash’ this season. Photo courtesy of NBC.

“Mama Makes Three”

Composed by: Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman
Performed by: Veronica Moore (Jennifer Hudson)
Appeared in: “On Broadway”

This song sounds like it could have been plucked from an award-winning musical, but unfortunately “Mama Makes Three” is from a fictional musical on Smash. It’s the first song sung by Veronica Moore on the show. It perfectly explains her character and her relationship with her stage mother—even though it’s supposed to be from a show Veronica is performing in. (Sure, we’ll go with it Smash writers.) Even from this one song, I would totally go see whatever show it’s from, especially if Jennifer Hudson is involved. Although I never saw Dreamgirls, Jennifer’s talent is well established and it was nice to see a new face on the show.


“Dancing On My Own”

Originally by: Robyn
Performed by: Ivy Lynn (Megan Hilty)
Appeared in: “The Dramaturg”

In this stripped down version of Robyn’s dance hit, Ivy struts her vocal stuff. In the episode, she’s singing to Jack, who has moved on from their relationship. Meanwhile, Ivy is dealing with everything in her life (wonderfully by the way) especially with some feelings of isolation. This is one of the few covers on the show that I’m a fan of, which might have a lot to do with the fact that I didn’t even know it was a cover until I checked the Smash song listing on Wikipedia. Regardless, “Dancing On My Own” is sad and beautiful; I could totally listen to it on repeat for hours.


Karen Cartwright sings in Jimmy's apartment when she can't find the words to say to him. Photo courtesy of NBC.

Karen Cartwright sings in Jimmy’s apartment when she can’t find the words to say to him. Photo courtesy of NBC.

“Some Boys”

Originally by: Death Cab for Cutie
Performed by: Karen Cartwright (Katharine McPhee)
Appeared in: “The Read-Through”

I usually don’t like when Smash does covers of popular songs—or even more indie songs like this one—but I’m liking them this season. I particularly like Karen when she’s doing simpler songs because that’s just what I like. Katharine’s voice works very well with this song; it’s sweet and simple and very pretty. I could totally picture her as an indie-pop princess in the same vein as Zooey Deschanel. Plus I’m a fan of Death Cab for Cutie so I was biased about this song from the get go.


“I Can’t Let Go”

Composed by: Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman
Performed by: Veronica Moore
Appeared in: “The Song”

This song is supposed to be the song, you know the song that the episode title refers to: it’s the song that Veronica sings to close her one-night-only show. So it has to be spectacular right? Well, it is. It’s powerful; it’s big; it’s beautiful. It’s a showstopper and I love every moment of it. Jennifer Hudson’s voice is well suited to this song, and I’m not afraid to admit, it made me cry a little when I watched the episode. Although this song does have a Broadway feel to it, “I Can’t Let Go” is surely enjoyable to those who don’t like or know much about Broadway, which is kind of what Smash is all about, isn’t it?


Megan Hilty belts her number. Photo courtesy of the Smash wikia.

Megan Hilty belts her number. Photo courtesy of the Smash wikia.

“They Just Keep Moving The Line”

Composed by: Marc Shaiman and Scott Wittman
Performed by: Ivy Lynn / Karen Cartwright and ensemble members of Bombshell
Appeared in: “The Fallout” / “The Dramaturg”

Ivy sings this song from Bombshell for a roomful of musical theater bigwigs and she absolutely nails it. Of course, this is Ivy we’re talking about. If I thought I was sick of Bombshell from the first season, this song certainly renewed my interest in the show. It’s one of those big Broadway songs that start off soft and swell to where the lead is completely belting it by the end with a big band percussion finale. Megan was made for songs like this. Apparently there is another version in which Karen sings the lead, but I don’t care about that. I still think Ivy Lynn deserves to be Marilyn; get it girl.


Jeremy Jordan plays Jimmy Collins on 'Smash.' Photo courtesy of Caller.

Jeremy Jordan plays Jimmy Collins on ‘Smash.’ Photo courtesy of Caller.

“Broadway, Here I Come!”

Composed by: Joe Iconis
Performed by: Jimmy Collins (Jeremy Jordan)
Appeared in: “On Broadway”

Jimmy’s introduction to the show is with this song. “Broadway, Here I Come!” is the song that catches Karen’s attention and draws her to the Brooklyn songwriter. I have to be honest, going into season two I wasn’t sure I’d stick it out with Smash, but Jimmy changed my mind. He adds some much needed diversity to the sound of the show. Plus, Jeremy Jordan’s voice is fantastic and the song is beautiful. It’s another of Smash’s cool hybrid songs this season between Broadway and something else, something completely original. If I could watch a show entirely about Jimmy Collins and his music, I would happily do so.


There are some honorable mentions I should include: Ivy’s version of Crowded House’s “Don’t Dream It’s Over” from “On Broadway” and the snippet of “I’m Not Lost” sung by Jimmy in “The Song.” I’m hoping the latter song will appear again this season and be released in its entirety, but that might just be a pipe dream. Anyway, we’ll have to tune in to be sure. Smash airs at 9pm ET on NBC.

Leave a Reply

